Cookies on this website
This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.
  • Share this page

Celebrating 25 years...


Celebrating 25 years...
the winners of the North Queensland Bursary are announced...

Queensland celebrated the 25th anniversary of the North Queensland Bursary on the 1st and 2nd of September.  Adjudicators Audrey Nicholls OAM FRAD and Elizabeth Toohey enjoyed performances by almost a hundred young hopefuls who competed for a number of awards including the coveted North Queensland Bursary.  Congratulations to all the students and teachers who took part and a big thank you to our sponsors Harlequin Floors, BlochDanceSurance, MDM Shoes, Energetiks and Cairns Dance and to all those studios who generously donated also. 


From the very first winner Tennille Rowland in 1993 we are pleased to announce the 2018 winners were......

Grade 4

Winner                      Dylan Itzstein                     Dance Express Mackay

Runner-up              Lila McGrath                         Leisa Payne School of Dance Mackay

Honourable Mention Danika Prien                FNQ Dance Academy Cairns


Grade 5

Winner                     Mikayla Harris                       Townsville Academy of Performing Arts

Runner-up              Beatrice Arnold                     Ann Roberts School of  Dance/Kady Brandon

Honourable Mention    Mei Iwamura            Julia Macalpine Dance Studio Cairns


Intermediate Foundation

Winner                    Bronte Vella                                Theatre Arts Mackay Dance  Excellence

Runner-up            Lilly Hughes                                   Julia Macalpine Dance Studio

Honourable Mention  Haylee White                  Townsville Academy of Performing Arts



Winner                  Taya Lohman                                    Turning Pointe Studios Cairns

Runner-up            Ruby Bartels                                    Ann Roberts School of Dance

Honourable Mention Sophie Schrale                    In 2 Dance


Advanced Foundation/Advanced 1/Advanced 2

Winner                    Jules Chastre                             Turning Pointe Studios Cairns

Runner-up             Mackenzie Coombe               Croft Gilchrist School of Dance

Honourable Mention Brooke Zanetich            Turning Pointe Studios Cairns


North Queensland Bursary Training Enhancement Award

Winner                   Jules Chastre                             Turning Pointe Studios Cairns


Artistry Excellence Award

Winner                  Emelina March-Peach             Whitsunday Dance Connection

Boys 2019 Award

Winner                   Dylan Itzstein                                 Dance Express Mackay


Photo: Audrey Nicholls, Jules Chastre and Elizabeth Toohey by Andre Cois 

Add comment

You can comment or ask a question in the field below, or send us an e-mail at Comments are moderated.

Question: What is 4 + 4?
Your answer: