Advanced 1 Bursary Finalists announced

bg white 2The finalists for the Advanced 1 Bursary have now been announced.

Lania Atkins – NSW;
Emily Bray – Victoria:
Bianca Scudamore – Queensland;
Naomi Sano – NSW;
Georgia Gear – WA;
Beatrice Jackson – SA.

The finals will be held with Solo Seal on
Sunday November 30
Studio Theatre at Bangarra
15 Hickson Road, Walsh Bay

Bursary 1.30pm
Solo Seal 3pm

Adults (includes both events) – $30.  Group of 10+ tickets – $25

*Group booking of 10 students includes one free teacher’s ticket. Please email Kerrie once you have purchased your 10 tickets.

Book here

Joan Burnett OAM Scholarship

JB winner with Kevin Jackson and teacherIt was with great anticipation in Tasmania that Hobart hosted the 10th Anniversary Joan Burnett OAM Scholarship on Sunday 2 November.

45 RAD Vocational students from all parts of the State performed in front of the special guest adjudicator Kevin Jackson, Principal The Australian Ballet.

Parents, teachers and friends are appreciative of this event as it is a special day on their dance calendar each year. They certainly supported the students enthusiastically on the day. The VIC TAS Panel were generously supported by Energetiks as the sole sponsor of the prizes and to Cindy Johnstone for donating the studios on the day.

Bronwyn Watkins National Director and Brian Nolan VIC TAS Panel Chair were also in attendance to support the event.

The Overall Winner was Medhanit Barratt (teacher Allison Gibson-Snare) who will attend the VIC TAS Panel’s Autumn School in Melbourne in April 2015.

The prizes for this event totalled $2,000.

Photo: Yvonne Pinto

Audrey Nicholls Awards Grade Award Winner

1H5A3664Following the Victorian Graded Examination Session the VIC TAS Regional Panel sponsored the Victorian RAD Grade Awards on Sunday 14 September at The University of Melbourne Performing Arts Studios. This is a highly anticipated event each year with 256 students from Grade 2 to Grade 6 performing a selection of the work they had prepared for their examination. The Panel were delighted to introduce Audrey Nicholls OAM FRAD and Amber Scott, Principal The Australian Ballet as the adjudicators for the day.

The audience of parents, friends and teachers for each group enthusiastically supported the students’ efforts.
The overall winner Mackenzie Thompson (teacher Emma Madden) is pictured with Audrey Nicholls OAM FRAD. The runner-up was Ellie Wang (teacher Christa Cameron).
The Panel were very appreciative of the additional sponsorship for the event from Energetiks, Bloch, Capezio and Sansha.
The prizes for this event totalled $5390.

Photo: Jon Clifton



Advanced 1 Bursary Finals and Solo Seal ticket now available

bg white 2Sunday November 30
Studio Theatre at Bangarra
15 Hickson Road, Walsh Bay

Bursary 1.30pm
Solo Seal 3pm

Adults (includes both events) – $30
Group of 10+ tickets – $25

*Group booking of 10 students includes one free teacher’s ticket. Please email Kerrie once you have purchased your 10 tickets.

Book here

2014 Retired Examiners Lunch

U6YuOV1G1KrOdYuoCazM2knpVIqmh6YxhHSz7jiD3ys,mx-cMdOpS_WIVkkUwUBUQtuEyLMFuN5JTh20m7laJ-o,0wqlBZfuIh29vBa8U4Q7MLcmpPXkgd6GNeDHnJF0fuE   iFthckR08QoPz8-ELWDY_yeFQwTLr7ITgm_MiIMoZmQ,mGhs4tvpNnwDxj6YW5pTrzGubiMu0IY3HIFurPi1Ufw,7ueDC6oHHhMFwdroMoKR3uW9zqiNXm7TgP_tShvtJ9I,NJKhKX6VUc5YzR3NBjdGs6V-cqeIYOoBGuHuUs9OOWc
Photo Credit – Andre Cois

On Friday 5th September, the Royal Academy of Dance held the Retired examiner’s Luncheon at Customs House Brisbane. Retired examiners throughout Australia gathered together to celebrate the recent retirement of Valerie Bayley-Logan and Prudence Bowen from examining. Both were presented plaques from London for this special occasion.

Genée 2014 medallists announced

Genee 2014

8 awards were given at this year’s Genée International Ballet Competition.

Read more including all the winners.

Clarification – Eligibilty rules around entering candidates for RAD examination sessions

 The  Code of Conduct for all RAD members and the Code of Professional Practice for teachers registered with the RAD is an essential membership benefit for RAD Registered Teachers and is part and parcel of upholding and maintaining our professional reputation as a leading international training and education organisation.

a)      The Code of Professional Practice for teachers registered with the RAD states:

Teachers must not, in any way:

3.3.4 Misrepresent or abuse their status as a teacher registered with the RAD who is eligible to enter candidates for examinations, including but not limited to:

  1. Entering candidates on behalf of another teacher who is ineligible to enter candidates for RAD examinations in circumstances where this might reasonably be considered to have the effect of falsely conferring such eligibility on that teacher. This includes entering candidates on behalf of a teacher who is ineligible to enter candidates by reason of their registration having been temporarily or permanently suspended

b)      The Code of Conduct for all members of the RAD states:

Members (including registered teachers) will:

  1. Never knowingly engage in corrupt or unethical practice that may affect the reputation of the RAD
  2. Observe all rules and regulations of the RAD in respect of membership as notified to them or published by the RAD

If any member, RAD Registered teacher or Full Member carried out the act of falsely signing a candidate examination entry form, they would both be in breach of the Code of Professional Practice and/or the Code of Conduct and the RAD would take that matter very seriously.

Furthermore the code also states that: If a member of the RAD should know of, or become aware of, any breach of this Code of Professional Practice by a teacher registered with the RAD they should notify their local RAD office. 

North Queensland Bursary 2014

RADMackay_LR-11 RADMackay_LR-24
The North Queensland Bursary was held on Sunday 17 August 2014 at the Central Queensland Conservatorium of Music in Mackay.  Students from Intermediate Foundation to Solo Seal levels travelled from Townsville, Rockhampton, Atherton, Proserpine and Mackay to take part in the Bursary.  Guest Judge Mary Li ( Former Principal Dancer of Houston Ballet and Queensland Ballet Company Ballet Mistress) and Nicole Galea (Class teacher) put the students through an Open Class and their examination Variations on stage in front of an audience of family, friends and teachers. Over 80 students entered for the Bursary which has not run since 2010.  Sponsors of the event included Bloch, Energetiks, Dancewear Mackay, Perfect Pointe Dance Boutique,Laser Plumbing Mackay, Quest Apartments Mackay, Razor Cut Concreting and Drilling Pty Ltd, Lynette Denny AM. Read more including all the winners.

Festival of Dance 2014

Linley Wilson Scholarship Recipent - Valentina MarkovinovicThis year’s Festival of Dance culminated in a Gala Performance on 1 June thrilling audiences with a spectacular presentation showcasing the very best of WA’s talented young dancers. Over 4 days, 340 participants competed for three prestigious scholarships and awards across various categories adjudicated by Rachel Rawlins, former Principal Dancer with The Australian Ballet, Justin Rutzou, ex-Sydney Dance and Queensland Ballet company dancer and Lecturer at WAAPA and Alessandra D’Arbe, dancer with the West Australian Ballet.

Audiences at the Gala were also treated to guest performances by, WAAPA dance students, Liam Green, West Australian Ballet Junior Artist and Ochre Contemporary Dance Company.  Read more including all the winners.

Behind-the-scenes at the Examiners’ Seminar

Examiners video
Following the Examiners’ Seminar, attended by the entire worldwide Panel of Examiners earlier this year in London, RAD Headquarters produced a video to celebrate this momentous occasion and to demonstrate the quality and value of the work the Examiners undertake on behalf of the RAD and our teachers and students.